Ischia Island

The eighth largest Italian island and the largest in the Bay of Naples covers an area of almost 47 square km. It lies in the Tyrrhenian Sea, 40-44° latitude and 13-55° longitude and is neighboured by Procida and Vivara to the Northeast, and Capri to the South.

Ischia with its population of 60.000 people is part of the region of Campania and of the province of Naples. It is divided into 6 municipalities: Ischia, Casamicciola, Lacco Ameno, Forio, Serrara Fontana and Barano. The circumference is about 18 miles (35 kms) and the highest point is the peak of Mount Epomeo with 788 metres.

The island has volcanic origins and, though the last eruption was in 1301, Ischia still bears the signs of volcanic activity. In 1883 a terrible earthquake destroyed large areas of Casamicciola, killing many people.

Thanks to its geographical position Ischia enjoys a mild climate, which, together with the lovely, hilly landscape and the inviting sandy beaches every year attracts many visitors from Italy and abroad.